The fields of Metamaterials (engineered materials that have properties not found in naturally occurring materials, "meta" in Greek meaning "beyond"), and Plasmonics & Nanophotonics (optical interactions with nanostructures and nanomaterials) open new opportunities for controlling electromagnetics waves in the sub-wavelength regime. Study and application of these interactions involve various scientific disciplines, i.e. engineering, physics, chemistry, material science, biology, medicine, information technology, energy, and communications.

META, the International Conference on Metamaterials, Photonic Crystals and Plasmonics features, every year, the latest developments in the area of photonics, nanomaterials and advanced electromagnetic materials. Initiated in 2002 as a NATO Advanced Research Workshop, when many of the current topical research areas on metamaterials and plasmonics began to emerge, META quickly became a major event for the community.

META provides a platform for scientists, students and postdoctoral fellows to share their knowledge and explore new ideas in the field of metamaterials and nanophotonics. The conference covers a wide range of topics such as machine learning for metamaterials, topological photonics, sustainable materials, quantum photonics, nanobiophotonics and more. The conference program typically includes an excursion and a banquet. It is a unique opportunity for participants to learn about the latest advancements in the field, identify new research directions and network with other professionals.

Following a now well-established tradition, META takes place every year in unique locations around the world.

Previous META conferences

 Year  Organizers  Venue
 2023  Philippe Lalanne, Said Zouhdi  Paris, France
 2022  Said Zouhdi  Torremolinos, Spain
 2021  Dorota Pawlak, Andrzej Kudelski, Said Zouhdi  Warsaw, Poland
 2019  Antonio Topa, Said Zouhdi  Instituto Superior T├ęcnico, Portugal
 2018  Said Zouhdi  Mediterranean Cruise
 2017  Junsuk Rho, Hakjoo Lee, Said Zouhdi  Incheon, Korea
 2016  Manuel Nieto-Vesperinas, Said Zouhdi  Torremolinos, Spain
 2015  Vinod Menon, Said Zouhdi  New York, USA
 2014  Nikolay Zheludev, Jing Hua Teng, Said Zouhdi  Singapore
 2013  Hamid M. K. Al-Naimiy, Said Zouhdi  Dubai, United Arab Emirates
 2012  Xavier Begaud, Said Zouhdi  Paris, France
 2010  Hadia Elhennawy, Said Zouhdi  Cairo, Egypt
 2008  Alexey Vinogradov, Said Zouhdi  Marrakesh, Morocco
 2002  Said Zouhdi  Marrakesh, Morocco