Special Symposia

Symposium 2: Industrial applications of metamaterials

Symposium Co-Chairs:


David T. Crouse, The City University of New York, USA

Director, The NSF Industry/University Cooperative Center for Metamaterials


Mike A. Fiddy, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA

Co-Director, The NSF Industry/University Cooperative Center for Metamaterials

This symposium is devoted to the transition of metamaterials from basic and applied research into real world applications.  Presentations and posters are invited that describe examples of existing or planned metamaterial components, devices or systems that are having an impact in any branch of science, engineering or technology development.  We expect there to be opportunities for product demonstrations, showcases, exhibits, and encourage contact with the session organizers to discuss ideas that would make your participation in the meeting worthwhile.  

Invited speakers include:

  1. Dr. Mahbub Hoque, RF Division Chief, US Army CERDEC, USA    
  2. Dr. Jeff Boksiner, Chief Engineer RFC Division, US Army CERDEC, USA     
  3. Dr. Mordechai Rothschild, leader of the Chemical, Microsystem, and Nanoscale Technologies Group, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA    
  4. Dr. Augustine Urbas, Metamterials Research Lead, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA    
  5. Dr. Justin Wehner, Principal Multi-disciplined Engineer, Raytheon, USA    
  6. Mr. Igor Bendoym, Lead Engineer, Phoebus Optoelectronics, USA    
  7. Dr. Jeff Pursel, Laboratory Director, Riverside Research, USA    
  8. Dr. Mikala Johnson, Optimization & Controls Researcher, Kymeta Corporation, USA

While the official deadline for submission of abstracts to the META 15 meeting is March 2nd, please contact us to discuss the flexibility we have with this requirement for this Special Symposium.


Symposium 1: Functional Metastructures and Nanomaterials: Properties, Fabrication and Modeling

Symposium Co-Chairs:


Alexander Govorov, Ohio University, USA



Hilmi Volkan Demir, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
& Bilkent University, Turkey


The Symposium is focused on optically active hybrid nanomaterials composed of semiconductors, metals, dielectrics, polymers, biomolecules, etc.  Fabrication methods involved here include colloidal synthesis, lithography, deposition, bio-assembly, hybrid approaches, etc.  The central issues to be addressed in the Session are new physical and chemical functionalities coming from interactions between nanoscale building blocks.  These interactions involve electromagnetic, Coulomb and charge-transfer couplings.  Examples of functional nanomaterials include colloidal quantum dots, metal nanocrystals, layered structures, nanocrystal complexes, lithographic metastructures and metasurfaces, hybrid nanostructures, bio-assemblies of nanocrystals and dye molecules, bio-conjugates, etc.


  1. Plasmonic nanocrystal assemblies and metastructures with novel optical properties;
  2. Hybrid structures with exciton and plasmon resonances;
  3. Energy and change transfer in hybrid nanomaterials for light harvesting; 
  4. Hot plasmonic electrons in metal nanostructures for photodetectors and photochemical reactions;  
  5. Hybrid nanomaterials for photochemistry; 
  6. Biosensors and bioactuators with nanocrystals; 
  7. Photothermal effects in plasmonic nanostructures: Phase transformations and  chemistry; 
  8. Chiral plasmonic metamaterials; 
  9. Bio-conjugated chiral nanocrystals and nanostructures;
  10. DNA-assembled nanostructures for plasmonics, excitonics and optics;   
  11. Excitonic nanomaterials for solar cells and lighting; 
  12. Organic/inorganic solid-state lighting; 
  13. Magnetic nanocrystals and nanostructures;  
  14. Theoretical models of hybrid nanostructures, metastructures and metamaterials.

Confirmed Invited Speakers:

  1. Yurii Gun'ko, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland 
  2. Tim Liedl, Munich University, Germany  
  3. Xing Yi Ling, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  4. Gary Wiederrecht, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  5. Dongling Ma, INRS-Énergie, Canada 
  6. Stephen Gray, Argonne National Laboratory, USA 
  7. Federico Rosei, Director, INRS-Énergie, Canada
  8. Fiorenzo Vetrone, INRS-Énergie, Canada 
  9. Richard Schaller, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  10. Renaud Bachelot, University of Technology of Troyes, France 
  11. Jerome Plain, University of Technology of Troyes, France
  12. Pierre-Michel Adam, University of Technology of Troyes, France 
  13. Hugh Richardson, Ohio University, USA 
  14. Jixin Chen, Ohio University, USA  
  15. Svetlana Boriskina,  Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  16. Alexander Holleitner, Technical University Munich, Germany
  17. Nick Kotov, University of Michigan, USA
  18. Brendan G. DeLacy, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Center, USA
  19. Chennupati Jagadish, Australian National University, Australia
  20. Nicolae C. Panoiu, University College London, UK
  21. Ventsislav K. Valev, University of Bath, UK
  22. Nianqiang (Nick) Wu, West Virginia University, USA
  23. Luca Razzari, INRS-Énergie, Canada
  24. Aycan Yurtsever, INRS-Énergie, Canada
  25. Na Liu, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany
  26. Gil Markovich, Tel Aviv University, Israel   
  27. Nick Vamivakas, University of Rochester, USA
  28. Min Ouyang, University of Maryland, USA
  29. Wei David Wei, University of Florida, USA
  30. Chuanlai Xu, JiangNan University, China
  31. Malcolm Kadodwala, University of Glasgow, UK
  32. Luat T. Vuong, Queens College of CUNY, New York, USA 
  33. Guillaume Baffou, Institut Fresnel, Marseille, France  
  34. Shuzhou Li, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  35. Pawel Keblinski, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY, USA
  36. Jessica Rodríguez-Fernández,  Munich University, Germany   
  37. Theobald Lohmüller, Munich University, Germany   
  38. Christy Landes, Rice University, USA
  39. Stephan Link, Rice University, USA
  40. Jordi Martorell, ICFO Barcelona, Spain
  41. Torsten Hegmann, Kent State University, USA
  42. Hedi Mattoussi, Florida State University, USA